New user questions -

Everything related to MakeMKV
rlh003

New user questions -

Post by rlh003 »

New forum member here. Let me apologize in advance; I’m new to this process and feel like I don’t know enough about it to ask the intelligent questions. I’d appreciate pointers to reference or research material if appropriate. We stream most of our content these days but I have about 200 or so old DVD’s I’d like to get on my Plex media server so I can store them somewhere out of the way. My general setup is a MacBook Air with an attached DVD drive to rip the DVD, a Synology NAS for the Plex server and a 60” Samsung Smart TV to view. I haven’t gone far enough to worry about viewing on other devices.

I downloaded and installed MakeMKV, ran it, loaded the DVD and pretty much went with the default settings other than changing the output location to the Plex library on the NAS. On the 5 I tried as a test, it worked in the sense that I got a viewable movie. However, I have a couple of questions and hope you can either answer or provide some sort of pointer for me to get additional information.

1) Most of our DVD’s have some sort of menu system. It might include special features or interviews and so on. None of this appeared when I played it via Plex. Most of that is fine but occasionally we’ll want to see an interview or do a scene selection as an example. Is it possible to copy that? Again, not a big deal but I’d like to know if it’s possible.