Good tool for converting MKV to H264

Everything related to MakeMKV
MoreCowBell

Good tool for converting MKV to H264

Post by MoreCowBell »

I'm new to this whole process but the MakeMKV program seems to work great so far.

I'm interested in looking at how to convert MKV files I rip from DVD to H264 to shrink the filesize.

Does anyone have any suggestions where I should start? Running in a Windows environment.

Thanks!
Spook

Re: Good tool for converting MKV to H264

Post by Spook »

Ok, just a little clarification for you, MKV is a wrapper, much like a zip, or iso file

H264 is a video format.

H264 gets places into an MKV package, along with an audio track, AC3 (Dolby) or DTS, and other things, like subtitles.

Now, that being said, MakeMKV is not a Transcoder... changing one format to another... it is a ripper, it gets the data off the disk on to your hard drive, in an MKV wrapper.

To Transcode there are many many programs out there, I personally use a nice simple tool I found called XVid4psp. Its free, and its initial purpose of transcoding to psp files has long since been surpassed. So, once you have the video ripped from the disk, you transcode/convert it with Xvid4psp(or some other transcoder)

A couple other programs you may be interested in are TSMuxer, and mkvmerge.

The two of these programs let you open the MKV wrapper, and see what Audio/Video/subtitles are inside. You can demux them, and combine them. I myself like to keep the original DTS tracks intact from bluray rips(I can't use them yet, but someday). So, I can demux the DTS track from the original MakeMKV rip, and mux it back into an MKV wrapper using mkvmerge.

This is just an example. I've recently(in the past 6-8months) gone down this road, and Im sure I'm missing allot. But this gets what I need done, and I can view my videos on my HTPC.