www.makemkv.com

MakeMKV support forum
It is currently Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:39 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Naming MKV output
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:22 pm
Posts: 1
As a new and registered user I cannot find a way to configure MKV so the output name is the same name of the movie/show as detected by MKV. In other words, the default name of the output MKV file is always "title00.mkv" and is not the name of the movie that I wish to convert.

Please advice...

NOTE: If this is not possible in the current version, can a feature be added so users have the ability to set the name of the output file?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Naming MKV output
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm
Posts: 5149
Preferences->General, make sure that "Expert mode" is checked. New options will appear on your screen.

When you open a disk, you can now edit what is present for the disk name. This affects the title names displayed. You will also be able to edit the individual title names, which will affect the file name.

And, if you look at the "Name" label "button", it is a "pull-down", where you can edit OTHER information about the title, including the file name.

Play around - there's more to it than I can explain in a short message, and it can do everything you want.

_________________
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: http://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Naming MKV output
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:12 pm
Posts: 7
Woodstock wrote:
Preferences->General, make sure that "Expert mode" is checked. New options will appear on your screen.

When you open a disk, you can now edit what is present for the disk name. This affects the title names displayed. You will also be able to edit the individual title names, which will affect the file name.

And, if you look at the "Name" label "button", it is a "pull-down", where you can edit OTHER information about the title, including the file name.

Play around - there's more to it than I can explain in a short message, and it can do everything you want.


Is this only in the Registered (purchased) version? I am looking in the advanced window and all it has is

Default Profile
Default Selection Rule
dtsdecoderdll.dll locaton

There are not other options


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Naming MKV output
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 10:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:29 pm
Posts: 183
You're looking up the wrong tree. :D

Woodstock wrote:
Preferences->General, make sure that "Expert Mode" is checked.


Your Preference window may look different since I'm on a Mac. 8)



Image

_________________
Registered User


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Naming MKV output
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:59 pm
Posts: 16
This was helpful for me, too! Thanks! :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Naming MKV output
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:16 pm
Posts: 1
Gotta "hijack" this thread somehow concerning getting rid of this "_t00"-addition to the ripped filenames.

Often Makemkv ripped the files naming them "title0x" with x variing according to the track being ripped. I found, that you can change that to the name you want if you click the corresponding title in the list and then enter the name in the "Settings"-field after "Name". BUT: Makemkv still adds "_t0x" (x being the tracknumber obviously) to that name. How can I remove that?

Thx for any help!

Greetz

Elbandito1200

Edit: Never mind, I found it in the dropdown menu: filename - change the name there and it's getting ripped as you want it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Naming MKV output
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm
Posts: 5149
That was kind of why I put together the "Changing names with Expert mode enabled" topic in the General section. There are a lot of things hidden until you turn on Expert mode. And Expert mode itself is rather buried. :roll:

_________________
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: http://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group