www.makemkv.com

MakeMKV support forum
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:30 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 12  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:42 am
Posts: 6
alexcoluzzi32 wrote:
Fine job Nascar!

"changed the SATA drive controller from Normal to Compatible"

Out of curiosity, where did you find this in the Dell BIOS? I've got an 8 year old XPS Studio 7100 running Windows 7 Home Premium with BIOS A06 (it's an AMD Phenom II 6 core based motherboard) and the only option I can find regarding SATA config is AHCI or RAID.

I have to research work arounds to this. I wonder if I actually have to put and IDE hard drive in it...


Get into the System Setup screen by pressing the <F2> key right after powering on and seeing the F2 prompt.

Look for SATA Mode in Advanced Chipset Features. According to the manual, you should be given the option to toggle between ATA and RAID (default). Switch to ATA for flashing the Blu-Ray drive. Boot from USB and flash the Blu-Ray drive. Then switch back to RAID (assuming that was the mode it was normally in) before doing a normal system boot.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:31 am 
nascar wrote:
alexcoluzzi32 wrote:
Fine job Nascar!

"changed the SATA drive controller from Normal to Compatible"

Out of curiosity, where did you find this in the Dell BIOS? I've got an 8 year old XPS Studio 7100 running Windows 7 Home Premium with BIOS A06 (it's an AMD Phenom II 6 core based motherboard) and the only option I can find regarding SATA config is AHCI or RAID.

I have to research work arounds to this. I wonder if I actually have to put and IDE hard drive in it...


Get into the System Setup screen by pressing the <F2> key right after powering on and seeing the F2 prompt.

Look for SATA Mode in Advanced Chipset Features. According to the manual, you should be given the option to toggle between ATA and RAID (default). Switch to ATA for flashing the Blu-Ray drive. Boot from USB and flash the Blu-Ray drive. Then switch back to RAID (assuming that was the mode it was normally in) before doing a normal system boot.


I get AHCI or RAID still. I've downloaded older BIOS versions but I'm not sure those're gonna do it. Right now I'm content ripping blu rays which both my drives do fine, actually make that 4 drives now.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:35 am 
.


Last edited by alexcoluzzi32 on Mon Apr 30, 2018 5:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:16 pm
Posts: 37
alexcoluzzi32 wrote:
Wait a tick, drive number 4, purchased just today at Fry's, for $50 after instant promo code, is another WH16NS40 service code 50, manufactured December 2016 and has version 1.02 on it!

That'll work right?
Fuckin' A, I've got 26 minutes to get back down there before they close and see if they have anymore. I'll grab a couple in case anyone needs one.


Hi Alex .. were you able to get an additional drive? If so I can take one if you have one to spare :-) Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:23 pm 
fljoemon wrote:
alexcoluzzi32 wrote:
Wait a tick, drive number 4, purchased just today at Fry's, for $50 after instant promo code, is another WH16NS40 service code 50, manufactured December 2016 and has version 1.02 on it!

That'll work right?
Fuckin' A, I've got 26 minutes to get back down there before they close and see if they have anymore. I'll grab a couple in case anyone needs one.


Hi Alex .. were you able to get an additional drive? If so I can take one if you have one to spare :-) Thanks!


I'm headed over there again this morning. Today is the greatest day of my life people! With this new (old) drive and the latest key file I popped in Deepwater Horizon and almost lost my shit when I saw it open. It's ripping at a solid 5x which is fine. This fucking rocks!

I'll let you know if I get more. I've got a buddy over there I'll have him go to the stock room and check dates :)


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:16 pm
Posts: 37
hi Teddy,

there are 2 DOSFLASH files attached in the first post. Which one do I use for the ASUS drive? What is the difference between the DOSFLASH_Windows7 & LG_DOSFLASH_LG?

Thanks!

Never Mind .. found the answer .. the windows7 file is for dumping the firmware using windows. sorry to pester the forum :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:16 pm
Posts: 37
alexcoluzzi32 wrote:
nascar wrote:
alexcoluzzi32 wrote:
Fine job Nascar!

"changed the SATA drive controller from Normal to Compatible"

Out of curiosity, where did you find this in the Dell BIOS? I've got an 8 year old XPS Studio 7100 running Windows 7 Home Premium with BIOS A06 (it's an AMD Phenom II 6 core based motherboard) and the only option I can find regarding SATA config is AHCI or RAID.

I have to research work arounds to this. I wonder if I actually have to put and IDE hard drive in it...


Get into the System Setup screen by pressing the <F2> key right after powering on and seeing the F2 prompt.

Look for SATA Mode in Advanced Chipset Features. According to the manual, you should be given the option to toggle between ATA and RAID (default). Switch to ATA for flashing the Blu-Ray drive. Boot from USB and flash the Blu-Ray drive. Then switch back to RAID (assuming that was the mode it was normally in) before doing a normal system boot.


I get AHCI or RAID still. I've downloaded older BIOS versions but I'm not sure those're gonna do it. Right now I'm content ripping blu rays which both my drives do fine, actually make that 4 drives now.


On the Dell motherboard BIOS, you need to have 2 identical hard drives connected to the SATA port on the motherboard to see the "IDE" setting in the BIOS.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 9:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 8:45 am
Posts: 9
My current system with asus mobo has no IDE option. I do have an ancient HP pc running win xp, would I be able to use that or does in need to be win7?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 12:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:16 pm
Posts: 37
Joe333x wrote:
My current system with asus mobo has no IDE option. I do have an ancient HP pc running win xp, would I be able to use that or does in need to be win7?

It doesn't matter what OS is on the PC. You will be creating a bootable USB flash drive as per Teddy's guide and you can do this in either Windows7 or using FreeDOS as posted in the guide. So you are good to go with your ancient PC and boot to the OS of choice using the bootable flash drive :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 4:21 pm
Posts: 3
Hi - thanks so much for the guide but the iso link doesn't seem to want to work with rufus anymore. I've downloaded it multiple times and it continues to fail with rufus. It hangs at just before finishing.

Anyone else have this problem? I just got an Asus drive with 3.02 and it can't read discs so I need to roll back.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 4:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 8:45 am
Posts: 9
fljoemon wrote:
Joe333x wrote:
My current system with asus mobo has no IDE option. I do have an ancient HP pc running win xp, would I be able to use that or does in need to be win7?

It doesn't matter what OS is on the PC. You will be creating a bootable USB flash drive as per Teddy's guide and you can do this in either Windows7 or using FreeDOS as posted in the guide. So you are good to go with your ancient PC and boot to the OS of choice using the bootable flash drive :-)


But if the PC is already 32bit running win xp couldnt I just use that instead of booting the pc from a flash drive? I thought the reason for booting to win7 through usb was because it doesnt work with win10 or 64bit OS.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:16 pm
Posts: 37
@Joe333x .. you are probably right .. since it is a 32bit system, you could make it work without the USB drive. Just make sure to connect the drive to SATA Port 0 on your motherboard and set the SATA controller to IDE in the BIOS.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 3:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 8:45 am
Posts: 9
fljoemon wrote:
@Joe333x .. you are probably right .. since it is a 32bit system, you could make it work without the USB drive. Just make sure to connect the drive to SATA Port 0 on your motherboard and set the SATA controller to IDE in the BIOS.


Jokes on me, just opened up the case and it actually only has IDE connectors on the mobo so I cant even use it, guess this thing really is ancient in tech terms.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 1:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:16 pm
Posts: 37
johnygfunk wrote:
Hi - thanks so much for the guide but the iso link doesn't seem to want to work with rufus anymore. I've downloaded it multiple times and it continues to fail with rufus. It hangs at just before finishing.

Anyone else have this problem? I just got an Asus drive with 3.02 and it can't read discs so I need to roll back.


I just made a Live Windows7 USB bootable drive using Rufus and the ISO file downloaded from the link provided in the file. When using Rufus, make sure you select ISO and point it to the downloaded ISO file. It did take a while, so be patient and it will finish.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 2:45 am
Posts: 3
So I followed this guide and believe I was able to successfully downgrade the firmware on my LG WH16NS40 SVC:50 to version 1.02. No errors.

However, still can't read my purchased discs. It at least tries to load and LED is flashing, but stops and says no disc.

Using MakeMKV, I've also placed keys_hashed.txt in to c:\users\<username>\.MakeMKV

Am I missing something, or did I make a mistake somewhere along the way? maybe using keys_hashed.txt wrong?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 12  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group