www.makemkv.com

MakeMKV support forum
It is currently Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:38 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:42 pm
Posts: 4
Location: London, UK
I'm trying to rip the DVD Les Demoiselles de Rochefort (from the BFI 2008 release) and once complete, the audio track is full of popping noises (when playing the .mkv in VLC). These popping noises are copied over when converting to .mp4 ("Better quality") using Handbrake. If I play straight from the DVD in VLC, there are no popping noises.

Any recommendations on what to try / what info you might need from me?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm
Posts: 4240
What does VLC list for the audio codec information (Ctrl-I in most versions) ?

On DVDs, you should not be using any audio translation in MakeMKV, so what you get in the MKV file should be the same as on the DVD.

What happens if you play the DVD through VLC (VLC can play DVDs directly) ?

_________________
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: http://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:42 pm
Posts: 4
Location: London, UK
When I play the straight from the DVD in VLC, it's fine. Looking at the audio codec when playing the DVD in VLC, Stream 5 is audio and the codec is "DVD LPCM Audio (lpcm)" at 48000Hz 16 bits. Interestingly, when I play the .mkv file in VLC (the one with the popping noises), the audio codec is Stream 1 "PCM S16 LE (araw)" 48000Hz 16 bits.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm
Posts: 4240
Are you using a profile other than "default" when ripping? This assumes you've enabled Expert mode and are using profiles...

_________________
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: http://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:42 pm
Posts: 4
Location: London, UK
I've not enabled expert mode. (I guess the reason I'm bemused is that I've used the software on ~100 DVDs and never had this issue)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm
Posts: 4240
Some of the advanced profiles (such as the FLAC profile) can optionally transcode the audio, which is why I ask. The standard or default profile, though, isn't supposed to do anything but copy the tracks after decryption.

_________________
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: http://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:42 pm
Posts: 4
Location: London, UK
I was just wondering if you'd had any further thoughts - I've tried a few more times but still get the same result.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group