Understanding Ripping Subtitles from Blu-Rays and UHDs

Everything related to MakeMKV
StormMeows

Understanding Ripping Subtitles from Blu-Rays and UHDs

Post by StormMeows »

Hi there guys,

I am new to MakeMKV and I want to make sure that I do the subtitles right. I tried searching the group and just come up with conflicting information about subtitles.

What I am trying to figure out is when do I need to select subtitles for a movie and do I select (forced) or just subtitles or both for each movie? I have a lot of variety in my blu-ray/4K collection of foreign films so that's why there will probably be a lot more movies that I will need English Subtitles for.

Also, I'm confused about forced subtitles with MakeMKV. If you select the forced subtitle, will it appear in the .MKV that is created or will you have to use another program to hard encode it into the movie (burn it in)? I am going to use Plex or Kodi to watch these movies so if I just select the forced subtitle file, will it automatically play it on these platforms?

If anyone has any useful links to learn more about how to handle subtitles, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!
preserve

Re: Understanding Ripping Subtitles from Blu-Rays and UHDs

Post by preserve »

Subtitles are ripped as subtitle tracks, they are not burned in.

If you want to burn them in, you can re-encode (and this will re-compress the video) with a program such as Handbrake. But there's not much reason to burn them in.

I always have both the subtitle track and the forced sub-track select by default. If there are forced subtitles, they will output as a separate track, if there aren't any, the forced track will just be skipped, a separate empty track will not be created.

They will be individually selectable and play in common software players such as mpv and VLC. I don't use Plex or Kodi but they should be fine there too, others can answer that more definitively.
preserve

Post by preserve »