MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Everything related to MakeMKV
combustion8
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:09 pm

MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by combustion8 » Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:13 pm

shows up as thumbnail (with info) but doesn't play and say "video corrupted".

plays fine on my computer.

setarip_old
Posts: 2136
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:31 pm

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by setarip_old » Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:05 pm

Hi!

1) Do you have this problem with ALL or just one/some .MKV files?

2) If just one/some .MKV files, what is/are the audio and video format(s)?

combustion8
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by combustion8 » Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:17 pm

Well so far I only tried one movie "Toy Story 3", and left the settings at the default... is there a certain setting that works best with PS3 Media Server that you know of?

setarip_old
Posts: 2136
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:31 pm

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by setarip_old » Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:31 pm

1) Which did you make this .MKV from, a Blu-ray disc or from a DVD?

and again

2) What is/are the audio and video format(s)?






combustion8
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by combustion8 » Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:43 pm

Blu ray disc, and I'm not sure what the video/audio settings were as I left it at the default... whatever setting the default is at is the settings I used.

setarip_old
Posts: 2136
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:31 pm

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by setarip_old » Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:20 am

I didn't ask you about "settings", I asked you about "formats"...



Icetrips
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:35 pm

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by Icetrips » Thu Feb 24, 2011 6:53 pm

MKV direct from MakeMKV doesn't play on PS3 Media Server.

Why?
Because the DLNA standard aren't standard at all.
PS3 Media Server use his own specification, like XBOX360 or Samsung DLNA or WDLive, ect...
DLNA support mostly only one audiotrack.
Also, there are many h.264 encoding method ACSS.

MakeMKV only make a dump of your blu-ray *unmodified* join of videotracks, audiotracks and subtitles under MKV format.

If you want to play a video on your PS3 Media Server, you need a third party application for reencode (transcode) for PS3.
For any question about PS3 Media Server, ask them directly on http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/ .
MakeMKV registered
System: Windows 7 x64 SP1, LG WH10LS30
Playback Devices: Media Player Classic, Samsung DLNA

hursto75
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:45 am

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by hursto75 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:53 am

You can take the MKV file and encode it into a mp4 or m4v for use on the PS3 using and program called handbrake (free). This will take a 20gig mkv file and make it around 5 gigs, also putting it in the proper codecs for the PS3. I have encoded my whole colection and watch everything on my PS3. Here is a nice how to, for linux http://crackednoodle.com/2011/01/blu-ra ... ux-how-to/. If you are using windows handbrake works there too.

Thanks,
Brad
http://www.ps3mediaservers.com

Icetrips
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:35 pm

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by Icetrips » Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:57 pm

hursto75: I don't tell the name Handbrake because Handbrake do a COMPLETE REENCODE.
It's not really a good thing if you work with 1080p video.
Reencode a bluray (1080p to 1080p) take around 10 to 12hours with a i5-i7 (4 threads) or 2 days with a Core Duo 2 (E6600).
So it's a good solution... but is a long way to go.

You can find 3rd party application who just transcode the video in 10 to 30 minutes.
MakeMKV registered
System: Windows 7 x64 SP1, LG WH10LS30
Playback Devices: Media Player Classic, Samsung DLNA

Romansh
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by Romansh » Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:26 pm

Icetrips wrote:hursto75: I don't tell the name Handbrake because Handbrake do a COMPLETE REENCODE.
It's not really a good thing if you work with 1080p video.
Reencode a bluray (1080p to 1080p) take around 10 to 12hours with a i5-i7 (4 threads) or 2 days with a Core Duo 2 (E6600).
Intel Core i5-760 (2.8 GHz, 4 cores): usually takes me 7 hours for a 2-hour Blu-Ray (1920x800, HandBrake with the equivalent of x264 --crf 19 --preset slower --tune film --ref 4 --bframes 4). Those are pretty slow settings, default x264 settings are good enough and a fair bit faster.
Also, I used to encode in 10-12 hours per BD on a Core 2 Duo E8335 (2.66 GHz, 2 cores) using the equivalent of x264 --crf 21 --preset fast at 1920x800.

Re-encoding Blu-Ray is slow, but 12 hours on a Quad-core is an exaggeration.

Icetrips
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:35 pm

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by Icetrips » Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:20 am

Not really. It's depend on setting.
But you decrease quality in 1920x800 (800p by the way)(or remove blank bar), so you save your time here.

I have "hard-ish" setting, (4bframe, Uneven Multi-Hexagon, 9 subpixel, ect...) but it's really take 10 to 12 hours on a quad i5.
But all this is for kept the "BD Quality" (1920x1080) and be able to play it on my Samsung DLNA when ACSS/h.264 encoding wasn't standard or reconized by my DLNA.

Most time I just have to run mkvextract and join in a MP4 file. This just take 10-20 minutes.
Transcode program could save you a lot of time (since most time you don't have to reencode), when it works.
MakeMKV registered
System: Windows 7 x64 SP1, LG WH10LS30
Playback Devices: Media Player Classic, Samsung DLNA

hursto75
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:45 am

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by hursto75 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 11:35 pm

I go 1080p mkv to 1080p mp4 re-encoding with handbrake on my computer in under 2 hours.

Processor 6x AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor
Memory 7668MB (1451MB used)
Operating System Fedora release 14 (Laughlin)

No way it takes 10 hours on an i7.

Brad

kazuya
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 4:56 am

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by kazuya » Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:06 am

i have a problem with my ps3 that is some days ago its show mkv Format file when i plug the usb in ps3 or through media share and i saw some movies mkv format through my ps3.

But now. i do nt know what happend its not showing any mkv format.:( .


any one know what is problem with my ps3 ?
\


kindly inform me.

Romansh
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by Romansh » Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:48 am

The PS3 has never supported the MKV format natively. Ever.

kazuya
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 4:56 am

Re: MKV not working with PS3 Media Server

Post by kazuya » Tue Apr 24, 2012 2:52 pm

for your kind info....please visit the below link.

http://community.us.playstation.com/thr ... 0&tstart=0


then u will get the answer.



thankx again for your reply

Post Reply