New feature, compression

Everything related to MakeMKV
mulox

New feature, compression

Post by mulox »

I am brand new to makemkv and trying to decide if I should purchase for blu-rays. Been using AnyDVD HD and BD Rebuilder for compressing the iso down to BD-25 format.

Does the makemkv dev team plan to add a compression feature similar to BDR in the near future (ex. this year)?
Chetwood

Re: New feature, compression

Post by Chetwood »

Hopefully not. There are TONS of free tools out there that can do this in all its complexity. No need to bloat MakeMKV with this crap.
MultiMakeMKV: MakeMKV batch processing (Win)
MultiShrink: DVD Shrink batch processing
Offizieller Uebersetzer von DVD Shrink deutsch
crowfax

Post by crowfax »

Chetwood wrote:Hopefully not. There are TONS of free tools out there that can do this in all its complexity. No need to bloat MakeMKV with this crap.
+1
QFT
Home Theater PC: Assassin HTPC, XBMCbuntu 12.0 (Frodo), Intel i5 3570k 3.4 GHz Ivy Bridge w/ HD 4000, LG BD-ROM
Playback Devices: Mede8er MED600X3D, MyGica EnjoyTV 120, Xtreamer SideWinder 3, Crystal Acoustics MediaMatchBox
mulox

Post by mulox »

I am not against a 2-step process (no choice today) and as a software engineer myself, I completely understand and respect your position on performance.

However I think the majority of users are not geeks like us, and would prefer a simpler 1-step process, even if it's driven by a master UI and you have 2 or more tools being called to execute underneath that. Case in point... I recall the early days with DVD's... having to use dvd decrypter and dvdshrink and eventually the market evolved to produce all-in-one tools like DVDFab... because the masses simply demanded it. I suspect once the mkv format reaches that same level of popularity, the demand would reach that same level. At that point, the first tool to produce an all-in-one solution would gain the most market share.