N?

Discussion of advanced MakeMKV functionality, expert mode, conversion profiles
Post Reply
Automaton
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:29 am

N?

Post by Automaton » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:40 am

Hilo!

In a custom profile I am trying to get MMKV to not select the 2nd eng subtitles off of a tv series that I am backing up. I'm taking eng/fre audio tracks and eng/fre/dut subtitles. Only prob is there are 2 eng subtitle tracks and it selects both. I just want the first.

Looks like the ":N" flag would do the job but after reading through practically every sub forum here I saw mike posting that it was not working a while back (1.7.3?) and I have not seen anyone posting examples of it working or its correct syntax.

Any news or examples would be most welcome.

fryk.
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:57 am

Re: N?

Post by fryk. » Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:19 am

What do you mean with ":N flag"? I've never seen such flag in matroska.

Automaton
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:29 am

Re: N?

Post by Automaton » Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:36 pm

I mean the "N" flag for makemkv profiles...

Code: Select all

<!-- track settings -->
    <!-- defaultSelection tokens:
    all         - always matches
    xxx         - matches specific language (ISO 639-2B/T code - eng,fra,etc...)
    N           - matches if Nth (or bigger) track of the same type and language
    favlang     - matches favorite languages, always matches if no favorite language is set
    special     - matches if track is special (directors comments, childrens, etc)
    video       - matches if track is video
    audio       - matches if track is audio
    subtitle    - matches if track is subtitle
    
    video tracks:
    mvcvideo    - matches if track is a 3D multi-view video
    
    audio tracks, special tracks never match:
    mono        - matches if mono
    stereo      - matches if stereo
    multi       - matches if multi-channel
    havemulti   - matches if track is mono/stereo and there is a multi-channel track in same language
    lossy       - matches if non-lossless
    lossless    - matches if lossless
    havelossless- matches if non-lossless track, but there is a lossless track in same language
    core        - matches if this track is core audio, logical part of hd track
    havecore    - matches if this track is hd track with core audio
    
    subtitle tracks:
    forced      - matches if track is forced
    -->

fryk.
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:57 am

Re: N?

Post by fryk. » Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:09 pm

Code: Select all

    N           - matches if Nth (or bigger) track of the same type and language
- type = (video, audio, subtitle)
- language = (ISO 639-2B/T code - eng,fra,etc...)

So "N" should set to "2" for the second english audio track.

NodNarb012
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:27 pm

Re: N?

Post by NodNarb012 » Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:38 pm

It's my understanding that you would need to add the following syntax to your default selection string: "-sel:2"

It has been a long time since I've tried using it, so I don't know if it was ever fixed/added, but if it does work, it would deselect the second instance of any and all tracks of the same type and language, not just subtitle tracks. Good luck and please update us if it works.

EDIT: Actually, you should be able to add "-sel:(2&subtitle)" to your selection string to accomplish what you want, that is assuming that the N selection logic works now.

necrosis
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 4:11 am

Re: N?

Post by necrosis » Sun Jul 21, 2013 4:14 am

Is there any status on this? I would love for this to work as I always include the subtitles when I do backups but would only like to select the first English subtitle track. I have been trying this but all I get are 'Invalid token' errors.

Code: Select all

-sel:all,+sel:(audio&(eng)),-sel:havemulti,+sel:(subtitle&(eng)),-sel:(subtitle&(2)),=100:all,-10:eng

liamhughes
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 8:15 pm

Re: N?

Post by liamhughes » Wed Jan 21, 2015 2:24 am

Hello,

Any updates on this? It appears to still be broken with the "invalid token" message.

Thanks!

Post Reply