DTS-MA converted to DTS-MA + flac

Discussion of advanced MakeMKV functionality, expert mode, conversion profiles
Post Reply
mjw1999
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:41 pm

DTS-MA converted to DTS-MA + flac

Post by mjw1999 »

I know some of you will think I'm mad but i would like to convert my .mkv movies that have DTS-MA audio to flac while keeping a copy the DTS-MA too.
Is this possible? if so how do i do it?

My reason for this is i use plex which cannot software decode DTSMA, so if i convert my .mkv's to flac then plex will now decode to LPCM which my non DTSMA Receiver will accept as 7.1 LPCM. I would like to keep DTSMA in my .mkv's for when i change my Receiver to one which will decode DTSMA.

Thanks
Mike
Romansh
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: DTS-MA converted to DTS-MA + flac

Post by Romansh »

Not directly. Possible workaround:

Blu-ray -> MKV #1 (DTSHD passthrough)

MKV #1 -> MKV #2 (DTSHD to FLAC)

MKV #1 + MKV #2 -> MKV #3 (both DTSHD and FLAC) (using mkvmerge or mkvmerge GUI)
mike admin
Posts: 4065
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:26 am
Contact:

Re: DTS-MA converted to DTS-MA + flac

Post by mike admin »

mjw1999 wrote:I know some of you will think I'm mad but i would like to convert my .mkv movies that have DTS-MA audio to flac while keeping a copy the DTS-MA too.
Is this possible? if so how do i do it?
Yes, but you have to write a custom profile. In a profile each track has at least one output. The trick is that you can specify multiple outputs per track, however most of the time there is a single output per track. You'll have to write something like the code below, assuming that you're editing the FLAC profile.

Code: Select all

    <trackSettings input="DTSHDMA-stereo">
        <output outputSettingsName="copy" 
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString">
        </output>
        <output outputSettingsName="flac-fast"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString,+sel:true">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>
    <trackSettings input="DTSHDMA-multi">
        <output outputSettingsName="copy" 
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString">
        </output>
        <output outputSettingsName="flac-fast"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString,+sel:true">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>
Post Reply