AC3 Conversion to LPCM? or (ACC?)

Discussion of advanced MakeMKV functionality, expert mode, conversion profiles
Post Reply
casperse1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:02 pm

AC3 Conversion to LPCM? or (ACC?)

Post by casperse1 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:45 am

Hi All

It seems that AC3 support is being removed from most players on IOS devices (https://www.iphonelife.com/blog/87/ios- ... ckup-updat

So all my new MKV files play without sound on my IOS devices :roll:

I would like to add a extra audio track to the conversion to MKV, that would play on "everything"

So I think LPCM or best would be ACC (Time consuming and cant find a batch tool to do this).

So how do I get about this? any advice from others facing this same problem?

I have changed "Default" profile to my own.
+sel:all,=100:all,-10:dan,-5:eng

Just to arrange the Sound and Subs, but what do I need to get a MKV with sound on IOS devices?

Best regards
Casperse

mike admin
Posts: 3907
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:26 am
Contact:

Re: AC3 Conversion to LPCM? or (ACC?)

Post by mike admin » Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:20 am

You can already transcode AC3 and DTS to LPCM, support was added a few versions ago. Given the state of things, audio transcoding to AAC is very likely to be added soon.

casperse1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:02 pm

Re: AC3 Conversion to LPCM? or (ACC?)

Post by casperse1 » Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:56 am

mike admin wrote:You can already transcode AC3 and DTS to LPCM, support was added a few versions ago. Given the state of things, audio transcoding to AAC is very likely to be added soon.
Great, is there a simple string I can add, so that MakeMKV will add a LPCM track if its "missing"? (I think some DVD have a LPCM stereo track)
I have modified the Default profile to get the correct order of different subtitles and soundtrack. Also want everything to be included so no Favorite settings.

So my question what to add, and where to get this LPCM track so I can get sound back on all my new MKV files.
(Just paid for the license, and think this tool is worth every penny :mrgreen: (€) ) - Would be perfect to get ACC !!! and just run a Batch on all my new MKV files, problem fixed! :D

Best regards
Casperse

casperse1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:02 pm

Re: AC3 Conversion to LPCM? or (ACC?)

Post by casperse1 » Thu Jan 09, 2014 1:54 pm

Could someone please update the sticky on how to get a extra LPCM track using MakeMKV?

mike admin
Posts: 3907
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:26 am
Contact:

Re: AC3 Conversion to LPCM? or (ACC?)

Post by mike admin » Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:40 am

AAC transcoding was added in 1.8.8

casperse1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:02 pm

Re: AC3 Conversion to LPCM? or (ACC?)

Post by casperse1 » Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:51 pm

mike admin wrote:AAC transcoding was added in 1.8.8
This is great news! Please tell me how to enable this? :mrgreen:
What should I add to the string? :wink:

-5:(forced*(eng)),-5:(eng),-10:(dan),-15:(forced*(dan))

Romansh
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: AC3 Conversion to LPCM? or (ACC?)

Post by Romansh » Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:20 pm

casperse1 wrote:
mike admin wrote:AAC transcoding was added in 1.8.8
This is great news! Please tell me how to enable this? :mrgreen:
What should I add to the string? :wink:

-5:(forced*(eng)),-5:(eng),-10:(dan),-15:(forced*(dan))
This is a default selection string, not a conversion profile.

You see to use the built-in AAC conversion profile. There's a popup for that, provided you enable Expert mode in Preferences > General.

Post Reply