Converting DTS-HD to LPCM not FLAC

Discussion of advanced MakeMKV functionality, expert mode, conversion profiles
Post Reply
befuddled
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:11 pm

Converting DTS-HD to LPCM not FLAC

Post by befuddled »

I am trying to convert, as per the thread title, DTS-HD to LPCM. Why not go with FLAC? Well, I stream my MKVs via a Popcorn Hour to a processor that expects content other than plain vanilla DD and DTS to be spat out by the player as LPCM, and it can't seem to cope with multi-channel FLAC. Multichannel HD-DTS to LPCM in my Oppo BD player works fine.
I have no problems creating 7.1 channel Flacs (that play just fine in vlc), but, for the life of me, can't figure out how to do the same in LPCM. Ignorance isn't bliss.

Can anyone tell me how to do this? Thanks.
ndjamena
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am

Re: Converting DTS-HD to LPCM not FLAC

Post by ndjamena »

http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=4385

Code: Select all

    <!-- Save DTS-HDMA as PCM -->
    <trackSettings input="DTSHDMA-stereo">
        <output outputSettingsName="copy"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString,-sel:true">
        </output>
        <output outputSettingsName="LPCM-raw"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>
    <trackSettings input="DTSHDMA-multi">
        <output outputSettingsName="copy"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString,-sel:true">
        </output>
        <output outputSettingsName="LPCM-wavex"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString"
                audioMix="1661">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>

    <!-- Save DTS-HD as PCM -->
    <trackSettings input="DTSHD-stereo">
        <output outputSettingsName="copy"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString,-sel:true">
        </output>
        <output outputSettingsName="LPCM-raw"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>
    <trackSettings input="DTSHD-multi">
        <output outputSettingsName="copy"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString,-sel:true">
        </output>
        <output outputSettingsName="LPCM-wavex"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>

    <!-- Save DTS-HD LBR (low quality) as PCM -->
    <trackSettings input="DTSHDLBR-stereo">
        <output outputSettingsName="copy"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString,-sel:true">
        </output>
        <output outputSettingsName="LPCM-raw"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>
    <trackSettings input="DTSHDLBR-multi">
        <output outputSettingsName="copy"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString,-sel:true">
        </output>
        <output outputSettingsName="LPCM-wavex"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>
	
Although what you're saying doesn't make a hell of a lot of sense. Is the popcorn hour passing the audio through HDMI or SPDIF? The Popcorn Hour shouldn't be passing raw FLAC to anything by default, if it is you should be able to tell it not to. If it can't decode FLAC properly then you should report it as a bug. Once the device decodes a track it should be PCM, if whatever it's passing the PCM to can't play it then MakeMKV's PCM won't play any better.

(I just realised the profile I've been using has been set to "copy" all forms of PCM, hopefully I haven't ripped anything with multichannel PCM with it...)
Last edited by ndjamena on Wed Nov 12, 2014 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
befuddled
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: Converting DTS-HD to LPCM not FLAC

Post by befuddled »

Thanks for taking the time. I agree about the Popcorn Hour, but I need to narrow down the variables to establish that.
ndjamena
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am

Re: Converting DTS-HD to LPCM not FLAC

Post by ndjamena »

Plain Vanilla DD and DTS is limited to 5.1 channels. Is it possible the problem is in fact that your popcorn hour is passing on 7.1 PCM to a device that doesn't know how to process it?

Try this:

Code: Select all

    <audioMixSettings name="16B51"
        outputBPS="16"
        outputChannelLayout="5.1">
        <description lang="eng">16-bit 5.1</description>
    </audioMixSettings>

    <trackSettings input="DTSHDMA-multi">
        <output outputSettingsName="copy"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString,-sel:true">
        </output>
        <output outputSettingsName="flac-fast"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString"
                audioMix="16B51">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>
frodawgg
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 10:20 pm

Re: Converting DTS-HD to LPCM not FLAC

Post by frodawgg »

Are these profiles in the most recent versions? I can't find them anywhere. Or do I have to go back and download 1.7.4?

In either case, does the beta have them, or just the paid one?

I am trying to export a TrueHD file as lpcm.

Thanks!
Post Reply