4K UHD results and help request

Please post here for issues related to UHD discs
tvguy7

4K UHD results and help request

Post by tvguy7 »

So I'm now up to five 4K UHD discs and I've really had mixed results and am somewhat discouraged. I'd love to know what's going on. I work in the IT field and usually can identify the issue but so far there's no smoking gun. Here's my complete system specs and results.

Bluray Drive: Asus BW-16D1HT firmware version 3.0
PC: HP Z820 with Dual 3.07 X5675 Processors with 6 Cores each for a total of 12
GPU: NVIDIA Quadro 5000
Hard Drive: LSI Mega raid 15,000 RPM drives. Raid 5 with 3 discs
Network Speed: 1Gb
TV: LG OLED 55B7A
Streaming: Universal Media Server directly to LG TV with WebOS 3.5

I started with Deadpool and it worked absolutely beautifully. No streaming problems. It streamed to my LG TV using Universal Media Server without one problem. I've tried it over and over and have no issues. Next was The Last Witch Hunter. When I first put the disc in I received this error in MakeMKV after about 30 seconds.

MakeMKV v1.12.0 win(x64-release) started
Error 'Scsi error - HARDWARE ERROR:TIMEOUT ON LOGICAL UNIT' occurred while reading 'BD-RE ASUS BW-16D1HT 3.00' at offset '524288'

I did a reboot and tried the disc again and it seemed to rip fine. But there are about 6 quick stutter points before the opening Title Sequence that seem to be in the same spot on each successive playthrough. After that though it streams fine to the end.

Next up was The Great Wall. It ripped fine. Occasionally there is what looks like macro blocking on scene changes. They look like digital hits that seem like MakeMKV wasn't able to get all the information off the disc.

The last one I did was Transformers the Last Knight and again no issues. It plays fine.