Page 7 of 11

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2020 10:21 pm
by SamuriHL
Mike do you still have the sample of Incredibles 2 I sent you last summer? If not I can make a new one and also create a testdump, as well, if that would help? Thanks!

Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2020 11:29 pm
by spl147
From what i have been reading on the kodi forums. The issue is with ffmpeg’s max bitrate cap for truehd/atmos. Currently 10Mbit and the truehd spec is max 18Mbit. It’s not a mkv encoding issue


https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/issues/16704

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2020 1:02 am
by ManMower
spl147 wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 11:29 pm
From what i have been reading on the kodi forums. The issue is with ffmpeg’s max bitrate cap for truehd/atmos. Currently 10Mbit and the truehd spec is max 18Mbit. It’s not a mkv encoding issue


https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/issues/16704
No, that's something else...

MakeMKV currently has problems remuxing movies with atmos sound and seamless branching (Incredibles 2, Ralph Breaks the Internet, many many more).

The audio problems happen at the branchpoints, and Kodi plays them without crashing - but the AVR or whatever is actually decoding the audio will have problems. Mine in some cases will lose audio entirely until I stop and restart the movie.

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2020 11:29 am
by mike admin
ManMower wrote:
Fri Mar 06, 2020 1:02 am
No, that's something else...
MakeMKV currently has problems remuxing movies with atmos sound and seamless branching (Incredibles 2, Ralph Breaks the Internet, many many more).
The audio problems happen at the branchpoints, and Kodi plays them without crashing - but the AVR or whatever is actually decoding the audio will have problems. Mine in some cases will lose audio entirely until I stop and restart the movie.
Yes, we are talking about this one - https://github.com/Nevcairiel/LAVFilter ... -554673177

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2020 11:34 am
by SamuriHL
Yup that's exactly the issue as far as I understand it.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk


Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2020 6:42 pm
by shawnc22
Has anyone tried to see if the problem still exists in the new 1.15 version?

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2020 7:01 pm
by SamuriHL
I would say given that mike_admin is asking for samples to be created, the answer is, no it's not fixed. :)

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2020 7:48 pm
by ManMower
SamuriHL wrote:
Sun Mar 08, 2020 7:01 pm
I would say given that mike_admin is asking for samples to be created, the answer is, no it's not fixed. :)
Did anyone share samples yet?

I can put something together if nobody else has...

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2020 8:48 pm
by SamuriHL
If you have titles other than Incredibles 2 that show this issue then you should follow the directions mike posted a few posts back about creating and submitting samples. Don't need multiple samples of the same titles but a few samples from different titles will probably help him.

EDIT:

https://www.makemkv.com/forum/viewtopic ... 549#p85549

Sorry I thought it was in this thread but it's in fact in the thread I just linked to.

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2020 9:54 pm
by ManMower
I've got "Ralph Breaks the Internet", I can make a test dump of that.

I'll also try to provide a sample of good/bad video clip across a break, like mike requested a few comments ago.

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2020 10:16 pm
by jayper
I just submitted a test dump of Frozen - UHD. I can work on pulling together a snippet from a good working MKV as well.

Edit: I also submitted a snippet of a working MKV file.

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:19 am
by omk1980
Anyone have these issues with new star wars box set?

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2020 7:55 am
by Jango8
How can you tell if you have ripped the Atmos soundtrack from a UHD 4K rip of a movie. Is it the 7.1 truehd 48000 hz 7.1 track?

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:45 am
by spl147
Jango8 wrote:How can you tell if you have ripped the Atmos soundtrack from a UHD 4K rip of a movie. Is it the 7.1 truehd 48000 hz 7.1 track?
Use mediainfo

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:08 am
by Jango8
Thank you. That worked. States Atmos