WH16NS40 and WH14NS40

Forum for discussions about UHD-capable dives
de2000

WH16NS40 and WH14NS40

Post by de2000 »

I am a noob. I've been reading the how to's and forum posts.

I have both drives, WH16NS40 and WH14NS40. The WH16NS40 is at 1.03 and SVC NS50. The WH14NS40 is at 1.02 (and I don't know the SVC code at the moment as I don't have access to the computer at home now).

So, initially, I tried to flash the 1.02 firmware from this forum (the Google Drive link) to the WH16NS40. It kept telling me that there was a mismatch and went to emergency mode. I rebooted the computer and tried to flash again. I think on the third try, it actually finished flashing without giving me errors and asked me to reboot. I did. I can see that MakeMKV tells me that the firmware is at 1.02. However, the drive still cannot load my UHD Lucy disc (spins, tries to read, then just stopped, and MakeMKV says no disc). I tried to read a regular BD disc just to make sure that the drive isn't bricked. It reads the regular BD disc.

I then tried the WH14NS40 in my computer. Seeing that it is already at 1.02, I tried to read the same UHD Lucy disc. No go, just like the other drive. I then tried to flash the 1.02 firmware from the Google drive archive, but it gave me errors.

So, this is where I stopped.

Can you guys see what is going on here? What else do I need to try? Need to try a different UHD disc? etc...

Any help is much appreciated!
de2000

Re: WH16NS40 and WH14NS40

Post by de2000 »

Well, I guess my situation is unique since no one responded.

Anyway, I forged on and flashed the MK firmware on the 14 since it is currently in the computer. And I also got another disc (Oblivion) from my stash to try. So, during the flashing, it gave me error again saying that it is in emergency mode. I rebooted, and it appeared that it took the update... I don't know why.

So, I used Oblivion, and it worked... Then I tried Lucy, it didn't work.