How to rip 4K UHD on BU40N

Forum for discussions about UHD-capable dives
swthFR

How to rip 4K UHD on BU40N

Post by swthFR »

Hello everybody
I am new here and a complete beginner. I would love to rip a Bluray 4K I bought with the UHD player I just bought, but I'm a little confused. I need your help

I'm using an iMac on Mac OS 10.15.6 (I can use a Windows 10 PC if needed) and I'm going to plug my UHD BU40N drive with USB.

First of all and before asking the community, I looked at these topics but I do not understand the procedure for my player (Many readers are discussed but not mine specifically):
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=18873#p70284
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=19113

I understood well that I had to modify the firmware of my BU40N player for rip 4K UHD movie but I do not know which firmware version I should use and with which software I should modify the firmware. (Nor where downloaded them)
I still tried to manage and on a topic I downloaded the MK firmwares. In the folder I downloaded I found a "bin" file named HL-DT-ST-BD-RE_BU40N-FR07-JM02202-211801221536.bin.
How should I use it? Is this the right one for my reader?

Easier perhaps, on my Windows PC I installed DVDFab UHD Disk Tool in Free version. Do you think this tool can allow me to rip my 4K bluray with makeMKV or not after doing the firmware modification? I prefer MakeMKV to create rip.

Thank you very much for your patience,
It must be difficult for you to answer me but I would really like to understand and do things well.
Sorry for my English, I'm French :(
MartyMcNuts

Re: How to rip 4K UHD on BU40N

Post by MartyMcNuts »

swthFR wrote:
Wed Aug 12, 2020 5:02 pm
Hello everybody
I am new here and a complete beginner. I would love to rip a Bluray 4K I bought with the UHD player I just bought, but I'm a little confused. I need your help

I'm using an iMac on Mac OS 10.15.6 (I can use a Windows 10 PC if needed) and I'm going to plug my UHD BU40N drive with USB.