'Posix error - Is a directory'

The place to discuss Mac OS X version of MakeMKV
Post Reply
julialena
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:22 pm

'Posix error - Is a directory'

Post by julialena » Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:29 pm

hi all,
when i try to rip multiple tracks from a BD, i get only one track. the others abort with 'Posix error - Is a directory'
i can rip every track from the disk, but one after the other. it's not a big issue, but it would be nice to get all tracks in one shot. any ideas?
thank you very much for the great tool :)

Woodstock
Posts: 5354
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: 'Posix error - Is a directory'

Post by Woodstock » Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:04 pm

Probably an issue with your automatic naming settings. What do you have set in Preferences->Video?
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8

julialena
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:22 pm

Re: 'Posix error - Is a directory'

Post by julialena » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:19 am

hi,
for sure it's an issue with the path building. i don't have automatic naming enabled. it's set to manual and points to my media server.
what i've realised is, that even when i rip the track one ofter the other, for the first track i have to add a trailing / to the path, for the next track i have to remove the /, then i have to add it again a.s.o.
i will try tomorrow with automatic naming on. now i'm going to bed. it's late in germany ;)

Woodstock
Posts: 5354
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: 'Posix error - Is a directory'

Post by Woodstock » Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:55 am

For me, I use "semiautomatic", and point it just at the drive, "Z:" in my case. This will use the disk name as the default directory, then attempt to use the disk name as the basis for the file names as well.
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8

julialena
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:22 pm

Re: 'Posix error - Is a directory'

Post by julialena » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:17 am

ok. semiautomatic is working. it's not exactly the path i want, but i can rename it afterwards.
thank you :)

Post Reply