USB Blu-ray Drive Compatible?

The place to discuss Mac OS X version of MakeMKV
newbie23

USB Blu-ray Drive Compatible?

Post by newbie23 »

Hello,

Newbie here. Apologies if this has been asked before but I have a question regarding Blu-ray playback. I plan to purchase a USB Blu-ray external drive for my MacBook Pro. Will the integration option with VLC be available for this external drive or does the Blu-ray drive need to be part of the machine for it to work?

Thank you in advance.

EDIT: Update! The beta key has allowed me to successfully integrate VLC/MakeMKV and my Blu-rays are playing like a dream. I'm not able to see the Blu-ray menu but I'm not fussed about that at all. Thank you for this great piece of software!
Last edited by newbie23 on Sat Sep 30, 2023 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dcoke22

Re: USB Blu-ray Drive Compatible?

Post by dcoke22 »

It can be external.

I think one might have to have a paid-for MakeMKV license to use VLC integration. I don't remember for sure though.

Most here are just ripping discs, not watching from the disc. Storage is cheap. :)
Billycar11

Post by Billycar11 »

dcoke22 wrote:
Fri Sep 29, 2023 7:19 pm

I think one might have to have a paid-for MakeMKV license to use VLC integration. I don't remember for sure though.
Mike says that's not the case I know I was saying that for a while because I had multiple people say it does not work when using the beta but Mike says makemkv integration should work on the trial or beta key.
Buy a UHD drive from the guide and how to video maker: https://www.makemkv.com/forum/viewtopic ... 20&t=17831
UHD Drives Guide: https://www.makemkv.com/forum/viewtopic ... 16&t=19634
Auto flash kit $25 Email me for one Billycar5924@gmail.com
newbie23

Post by newbie23 »

dcoke22 wrote:
It can be external.

Most here are just ripping discs, not watching from the disc. Storage is cheap. :)
Thank you for the reply :) I read it's free if you use the beta key. I can only give it a try.