DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
Post Reply
kfreeb
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:43 pm

DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

Post by kfreeb » Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:24 pm

Has anyone had problems with including the DTS Lossless Audio track along with the DTS 3/2+1, (5.1) audio and then encoding the resulting file in handbrake?

When I only include the DTS 3/2+1, (5.1) audio track in the output MKV file, handbrake has no problems encoding the file. When I also include the DTS Lossless audio track along with the DTS 3/2+1, (5.1) audio track, (in the MKV output file) handbrake will not encode the file. The handbrakes encode log shows the following:

Stream with high frequencies VQ coding
[22:18:45] dca_syncinfo failed
[22:18:45] dca_syncinfo ok
[22:18:45] dca_syncinfo failed
[22:18:45] dca_syncinfo ok
[22:18:45] dca_syncinfo failed
[22:18:45] dca_syncinfo ok

Has anyone else seen this behavior handbrake? Is I realize MKV turns the Lossless DTS track off by default, is this why?
Mac Pro 3.33GHz Intel Xeon 12 core (mid 2012)
64GB Memory
Mac OS X 10.12.6
Internal Blu-ray drive: BD-RE WH14NS40
MakeMKV v1.14.2 darwin(x64-release)

setarip_old
Posts: 2136
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:31 pm

Re: DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

Post by setarip_old » Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:10 pm

Hi!

Although someone may come by with some insight, this sure sounds like a Handbrake problem (rather than a MakeMKV problem).

Have you raised this question with the author/publisher of Handbrake and/or, if there is one, at the Handbrake Forum?




skittle
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 4:23 am

Re: DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

Post by skittle » Wed Sep 29, 2010 12:42 am

handbrake uses very very old ffmpeg. It does not know about lossless tracks. Maybe try a more recent version from the handbrake nightly builds.

kfreeb
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:43 pm

Re: DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

Post by kfreeb » Wed Sep 29, 2010 12:55 am

skittle wrote:handbrake uses very very old ffmpeg. It does not know about lossless tracks. Maybe try a more recent version from the handbrake nightly builds.
Thanks skittle

After checking into more of the inner workings of handbrake, (by the way I do use the nightly builds of handbrake) you nailed it. The current handbrake doesn't understand DTS Lossless audio and therefor the errors. The solution is to leave the DTS Lossless audio unchecked and not part of the final MKV output file.

Once again, MKV is really showing how current and robust a program it truly is. Hopefully this post will be of help with anyone that has this question in the future.

Thanks again skittle!
Mac Pro 3.33GHz Intel Xeon 12 core (mid 2012)
64GB Memory
Mac OS X 10.12.6
Internal Blu-ray drive: BD-RE WH14NS40
MakeMKV v1.14.2 darwin(x64-release)

skittle
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 4:23 am

Re: DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

Post by skittle » Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:11 am

Of course you can also mux in the lossless track your self with mkvmerge(gui) after handbrake has encoded it.
http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtoolnix/

Its one more step, but if your equipment supports it... then go for it! Also if you feel up to it I have written a small guide that details both compiling latest and encoding directly with x264.
http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1313

jellegard
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 11:12 pm

Re: DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

Post by jellegard » Fri Oct 08, 2010 11:42 pm

just found this post. was looking on Handbrake with no luck. i am getting the same error. does this mean i have to rip my BluRay without the Lossless audio track to Handbrake the .mkv file? when i ripped the BluRays with MakeMKV i chose ALL the "English" Audio as well as all the "English" subtitles. here are my questions:

1) sometimes there is more than one DD 2.0 Audio track. i choose both. should i be doing this?
2) sometimes there is more than one English set of subtitle tracks. one forced and one unforced. i typically choose ALL English subtitle tracks. should i be doing this?
3) what is the difference between forced and unforced?

i appreciate any and all help provided.....

thx.

Icetrips
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:35 pm

Re: DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

Post by Icetrips » Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:10 pm

What's your point to do that?
If you use Handbrake is for "REENCODE" your source... OK.. but why?

The only point I see it's for reencode them in MP4 format for use on DLNA mediaserver/mediacenter.
If it's the case, you must only have 1 audiotrack.
Most media center doesn't support mkv or mp4 having more than one audiotrack.

Basicly, your mkv file have many audiotrack and your mp4 file have only one audiotrack.

Second thing, for the DTS Lossless just try.. reencode few file with different audio format in handbrake.
1 audiotrack and save them with different name.
Tries them on your media center after.
That way you can identify what work or doesn't work on your DLNA.

DLNA standard doesn't mean this will works everywhere but you could at least be sure this works in your home.
MakeMKV registered
System: Windows 7 x64 SP1, LG WH10LS30
Playback Devices: Media Player Classic, Samsung DLNA

rcork
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:32 pm

Re: DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

Post by rcork » Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:15 pm

The Handbrake nightly build now has beta support for DTS-HD. I haven't tried it yet but you can download the handbrake nightly builds from https://build.handbrake.fr/view/Nightlies/

Romansh
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

Post by Romansh » Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:48 pm

rcork wrote:The Handbrake nightly build now has beta support for DTS-HD. I haven't tried it yet but you can download the handbrake nightly builds from https://build.handbrake.fr/view/Nightlies/
FWIW, this just means that FFmpeg will decode the DTS core of DTS-HD tracks from MKV files. I don't think FFmpeg supports DTS-HD yet (AFAIK, it discards the HD extensions and decodes the core).

The original issue was due to the following:

1) FFmpeg not providing enough information to distinguish between regular DTS and DTS-HD (addressed in https://trac.handbrake.fr/changeset/3779)

2) HandBrake sending all DTS tracks (including DTS-HD) to its usual DTS decoder, libdca (addressed in https://trac.handbrake.fr/changeset/3785)

3) libdca's lack of DTS-HD support (i.e. its inability to discard the HD extensions and decode only the core)

This was not an issue with BD file/folder structures and MPEG Transport Streams as HandBrake uses its own TS demuxer which can identify DTS-HD and extract the DTS core before sending it to libdca.

GJones
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:02 pm

Re: DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

Post by GJones » Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:18 pm

skittle wrote:Of course you can also mux in the lossless track your self with mkvmerge(gui) after handbrake has encoded it.
http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtoolnix/

Its one more step, but if your equipment supports it... then go for it! Also if you feel up to it I have written a small guide that details both compiling latest and encoding directly with x264.
http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1313

HandBrake often goes out of its way to make sure that it syncs the audio and video appropriately. Remuxing outside of this process will generate inconsistencies between the transcoded video and the original audio.

Romansh
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: DTS Lossless Audio & Handbrake

Post by Romansh » Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:37 pm

For those interested: the latest HandBrake nightly still has issues with DTS-HD in MKV. It seems a few FFmpeg bugs cause it (FFmpeg) to sometimes give bogus timestamps for DTS-HD in MKV, resulting in A/V sync and other miscellaneous issues when re-encoding with HB. They'll get fixed eventually, but in the meantime, if you re-encode audio, it's easier/safer to include the DTS core and select that in HandBrake.

Post Reply