Complete newbie, a couple of questions

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
SpoonieTurtle

Complete newbie, a couple of questions

Post by SpoonieTurtle »

Hi, I'm totally new to ripping DVDs and a bit behind the technological times anyway. My main purpose for ripping DVDs is because my laptop drive is temperamental when playing them; I was using Handbrake to rip but it was only handling half the discs I want to rip properly.

My main question is: with the unlocked Beta version of MakeMKV is it possible to compress the files in any way? I was ripping them at 720p in Handbrake and .mp4 files seemed to be smaller than .mkv but not by much, whereas with MakeMKV the files are about twice the size of the 720p files. The MakeMKV file details only tell me the bitrate, not the resolution, and I don't know enough about any of this to work out why there's such a difference in size.

I'm not sure what resolution the original DVDs are; they're an early 2000s release of an 80s/90s programme, so better quality than the original broadcast but certainly not full HD! They're PAL, if that makes any difference (I'm in the UK so that's our default).

I'm perfectly happy to run the files through Handbrake if it's necessary; I just wondered if there was a way in MakeMKV to start with - I downloaded it just as the May 2020 Beta key expired so I haven't yet seen what options are in the unlocked version.

I've had a bit of a browse over a coupel of days but it's quite overwhelming with constant brain fog to find the bits of information I need.
Thanks in advance for any help!
basdf

Re: Complete newbie, a couple of questions

Post by basdf »

Short answer: it really depends on the original DVD video. MakeMKV is a ripping program only. It doesn't really compress video files and is not a true substitute for Handbrake, although it gives you some of the same options (which video, audio, and captions to rip).