Bluray Ripping Issue

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
discthrower

Bluray Ripping Issue

Post by discthrower »

First off, a huge thank you to the developers and this whole community. I'm just getting into using MakeMKV to rip my DVD and Bluray collection for use on Plex and have learned so much from my short time here already. I'm looking forward to having my physical collection of movies/shows available digitally and MakeMKV is a key piece to making this possible.

Unfortunately, I've not been able to find anyone else with the same issue I'm experiencing. While I've been able to rip 200+ DVDs with success, I did not have a drive capable of reading a Bluray disc (much less rip one) until recently. I've now got the ASUS BW-16D1HT. It came with the 3.10 firmware which I've patched using the tools here.

In beginning to rip my Bluray collection, I find that while the discs appear to rip successfully (Mission Impossible, Mission Impossible: Fallout, and Big Hero 6 - all 1080p), playback of the resulting MKV files stops and does not resume after between 10-20 seconds of playtime. I find this same thing happens when I try to run the files through Handbrake. That encode appears to complete successfully, but only actually encodes the first 10-20 seconds worth of the movie. During playback of the MKV file, I can skip ahead in the movie but it eventually stops and cannot be resumed. This seems to happen at the same time in playback, each time I try (for example, I skipped forward in Big Hero 6 and it consistently stops at 28:47). VLC needs to be shut down and re-opened each time.