Samsung tv DTS and Atmos

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
guidewriter

Samsung tv DTS and Atmos

Post by guidewriter »

Hello

I'm new to all this so please bear with me.

I have a 2001 Samsung TV and Panasonic Player which happily plays DVDs with a DTS soundtrack and Blu Rays with Atmos through a Sonos Arc. The Player modifies the DTS track to make it acceptable and the TV is designed to cope with Atmos.

By trial and error I have ripped disks with DTS audiotracks and used Handbrake to mixdown to 5.1 channels and played the file from a USB disk and Sonos tells me I am getting 5,1 sound. Good.

But the tv cannot cope with 7.1 Atmos tracks via USB so I tried to downmix to 7.1 channels and the file plays OK but Sonos tells me it is only 5.1

Having read many posts and done lots of Googling, I am beginning to think that the only way I will get true Atmos sound is to buy an Nvidia Shield Pro. A bit expensive and another controller to add to the table-full I have already.

Will an Nvidia Shield work, or is there a better way?
dcoke22

Re: Samsung tv DTS and Atmos

Post by dcoke22 »

Is the Sonos Arc is connected to the TV via an HDMI cable? Or is it connected via an optical cable?

If it is connected via HDMI, is it plugged into a port that supports ARC (audio return channel) or even better, the newer eARC?

According to the Sonos Arc FAQ, the best way to get Dolby Atmos or Dolby TrueHD support is via an eARC connection. I doubt a TV from 2001 supports eARC.

If using just an ARC connection, you might be able to get Dolby Atmos, but only if it is encoded in a Dolby Digital Plus stream. You can not get Dolby TrueHD, a lossless format that may also have Dolby Atmos (Atmos being the part that adds the height channels to the surround sound mix). Most newer blu-rays and UHDs with Atmos are using a TrueHD base stream with Atmos.