Hunter Killer/Anna DVD title?

Please post here for issues related to DVD discs
Bains999

Post by Bains999 »

Two DVDs – Hunter Killer and Anna
Ran through MakeMKV – results were not as expected.

For the Hunter Killer content
The .mkv file jumps from 4:28 to 6:22 on the time frame when played.
Obviously the .mp4 file gets ‘futzed up’ at the 4:28 point as would be expected.

For the ANNA content
The .mkv file jumps from 3:52 to 6:18 on the time frame when played.
Obviously the .mp4 file gets ‘futzed up’ at the 3:52 point as would be expected.

Any idea of how to ‘fix’ the .MKV process or what I am doing wrong would be appreciated.

BTW, I have used MakeMKv to prepare literally over a hundred DVDs. I understand the program a little but in terms of understanding the underlying technology I am a novice.
Woodstock

Post by Woodstock »

Hunter Killer is a Lionsgate disk; are you sure you ripped the correct title? Lionsgate will put multiple fake titles on their disks (hundreds on Bluray), assembled out of somewhat random scenes from the movie. Improper time stamps might be among their current feints.

If you chose the title to rip by the file size, you probably had a 1 in 4 chance of getting it right.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
Bains999

Post by Bains999 »

Well, I certainly could use some education or pointers.

How to pick the 'right' title has been a mystery to me -- yes I picked the largest size item.

Any help would be useful.
Woodstock

Post by Woodstock »

Searching for "Hunter Killer" here comes up with several topics for the Bluray version, but nothing on the DVD. That usually means not many people bought the DVD, compared to the BD.

Well, actually, there's a topic that mentions having found the correct DVD title, but the person who said that didn't say WHICH title it was.

I'm going to change the subject of this topic, and hopefully someone will pick up on it.