output wont play properly.

Please post here for issues related to Blu-ray discs
Post Reply
doctorwhofan10
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 1:09 am

output wont play properly.

Post by doctorwhofan10 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 4:47 pm

I recently bought Doctor Who Blu-Ray disks Season 5,6 and specials for 2005 series. Each season comes with 6 disks. I can create an MKV for each disk, which is either 15 GB per episodes (2 episodes per disk) or 36 GB. I am not sure which stream to choose here, so I choose them all and then play them to see if they have the right episodes in them.

I have only gotten to 3 disks now, but none of the MKV play on my VLC player. VLC will start playing it and will just stop. None of the other built in player would play the file. I even tried playing it on my BoxeeBox, there too it plays very slowly with a lot of jitter. I am not sure if it is due to size or if it is due to some wrong information in the MKV file.

I tried to compress the MKV using Handbrake and FreeMake Video Converter; Handbrake crashes at start up and FreeMake creates a small 600 byte file.

I enabled debugging, but got no useful information in it.

I am on MakeMKV 1.8, Linux version. Registered Copy.

I am not sure what to do now. I ended up watching the Blu-Ray on my Blu-Ray player. With young kids at home, it is hard to use the blu-ray player, as they too want to watch Doctor Who and each time they want to watch an Episode, all the disks are out and replacing them can get expensive.

Please advise.
Thanks

DW.

Smithcraft
Posts: 654
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 8:56 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: output wont play properly.

Post by Smithcraft » Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:47 am

Being that it's from BBC, I would say it's most likely an issue with the interlaced VC-1 video stream.

SC

doctorwhofan10
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 1:09 am

Re: output wont play properly.

Post by doctorwhofan10 » Fri Mar 08, 2013 1:08 pm

Vc-1 issue? What is that? So are you saying I cannot rip these Blu-Ray disks even if I wanted to?

Ooh! No :-( I ordered all doctor who seasons and I've no other go than to watch them 1 disk at a time?

let me know if that issue well be solved in future versions.



DW

paulster
Posts: 197
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: output wont play properly.

Post by paulster » Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:11 pm

Interlaced VC-1 is a problem for a lot of players. It's nothing to do with MakeMKV, just with how the video is encoded as it was originally targeted for broadcast.

Smithcraft
Posts: 654
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 8:56 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: output wont play properly.

Post by Smithcraft » Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:45 pm

VC-1 is not the issue, it's interlaced VC-1 that is the issue.

SC

doctorwhofan10
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 1:09 am

Re: output wont play properly.

Post by doctorwhofan10 » Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:47 pm

Ok. So what is the solution? How do I get my blu-ray disks to mkv files? Please advise.
Thanks

DW

Smithcraft
Posts: 654
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 8:56 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: output wont play properly.

Post by Smithcraft » Sat Mar 09, 2013 3:11 am

You could use something that can handle interlaced VC-1 to transcode to h264. Handbrake can not yet handle iVC-1, but I think StaxRip and one other app I can't remember can do iVC-1.

Considering how much BBC charges for DVDs and Blurays, they could sell progressive content. :?

SC

doctorwhofan10
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 1:09 am

Re: output wont play properly.

Post by doctorwhofan10 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:12 pm

I have AnyDVD HD on another computer. Once I found out about MakeMKV for Linux, I gave up on AnyDVD.

I will give StaxRip a shot. But if there are any tools for Linux, that would be most helpful, as my Windows PC is very old and very slow.

Thanks

DW

Smithcraft
Posts: 654
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 8:56 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: output wont play properly.

Post by Smithcraft » Sat Mar 09, 2013 9:31 pm

AnyDVD isn't going to make any difference as it only removes the DRM and does not re-encode the streams.

I don't know of any tools for re-encoding iVC-1 in *nix. You might be able to find something at VideoHelp.

SC

Romansh
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: output wont play properly.

Post by Romansh » Sun Mar 10, 2013 1:33 pm

Maybe via hardware-accelerated decoding (using the GFX card). Otherwise, there is no VC-1 decoder with interlaced decoding support available under Linux.

Post Reply